Guidelines for Advancement Under the Step Plus System for the Health Sciences Clinical Professor Series

These are interim guidelines. These guidelines are to be used in addition to the policies, procedures, and exhibits provided in the Academic Personnel Manual (APM) and APM-UCD.

General Principles

All faculty appointed in HSCP are eligible for advancement at normative time for their rank and step. These guidelines are based on the criteria for evaluation in the HSCP series (APM 278-10) and the Instructions to Review Committees Which Advise on Actions Concerning the Health Sciences Clinical Professor series (APM 210-6). In formulating our criteria for recommending greater than 1.0-step advancements, we aim to strike a balance between concreteness and flexibility. Our goal is to clarify the criteria for advancement without adopting rigid quantitative assessments that understate or overstate the total contributions of candidates. In all cases, chairs and deans should articulate in the department and dean’s letters the grounds for advancement beyond simple numerical tabulations by, for example, describing the special impact or quality of the work, the awarding of prizes for achievement, or the scale and scope of the undertaking.

One-Step Advancement

A balanced record, appropriate for rank and step, with evidence of a meritorious record of achievement in all areas of responsibility, is rewarded with a 1.0-step advancement. Health Sciences Clinical Professor series faculty engage in (1) teaching, (2) professional competence and activity, (3) scholarly or creative activity, and (4) university and public service. Scholarly or creative activities and university and public service derive from and support the appointee’s primary responsibilities in clinical teaching and professional activities. These areas shall be appropriately weighted and broadly defined to take into account the primary emphasis on clinical teaching and patient care services. HSCP faculty can expect to advance unless a major deficiency in their performance is determined. Appointees in the Health Sciences Clinical Professor series shall be evaluated in relation to the nature and time commitments of their university assignments. Growth and accomplishment in the appointee’s area of expertise is expected to increase as faculty advance in rank and step.

One and a Half-Step Advancement

For HSCP faculty, 1.5-step advancement requires a meritorious record in all categories of responsibility for that series with outstanding achievement in at least one area among: (1) teaching, (2) professional competence and activity, (3) scholarly or creative activity, and (4) university and public service. Outstanding achievement may be defined using a variety of methods. For performance in any area to be deemed outstanding, the candidate’s dossier must demonstrate how the achievements exceed usual expectations. However, outstanding achievement in one area will not qualify the candidate for 1.5-step advancement if performance in another area does not meet UC Davis standards.

Two-Step Advancement

A 2.0-step advancement will require a meritorious record in all areas of responsibility, with outstanding achievement in at least two areas, as well as publications, presentations or other appropriate documentation demonstrating that innovations (e.g., new curricula) have been adopted outside the institution.

Advancement greater than Two Steps

An advancement greater than 2.0 steps will be extremely rare. These advancements will require an exceptionally meritorious and balanced record, highlighted by extraordinary levels of achievement in extending the application of knowledge and information, as well as creative activity and outstanding contributions in university and public service, and professional competence.

Greater than One-Step Above-Scale Advancement

The criteria for merit increases are extremely steep at this high rank. Above Scale status is reserved only for the most highly distinguished faculty (1) whose work of sustained and continuing excellence has attained at least national recognition and broad acclaim reflective of its significant impact; (2) whose university teaching performance is outstanding; and (3) whose university and public service is highly meritorious. Advancements of 1.5 steps require an exceptionally meritorious record of excellence in all areas of review.