American Academy of Arts and Letters

UC Davis Honorees

Election to the American Academy of Arts and Letters is considered the highest formal recognition of contributions to literature, fine arts and music in the United States. More>>


Gary SnyderGary Snyder

Professor Emeritus Snyder's poetry and prose has been published in more than 20 languages. Snyder, who is also associated with the Beat writers of the San Francisco Renaissance period, was later awarded a Pulitzer Prize for his book Turtle IslandHe was elected a fellow in 1987, and is a recipient of the Wallace Stevens Award and the Bollingen Prize for Poetry. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a John Simon Memorial Guggenheim fellow. 



Wayne ThiebaudWayne Thiebaud

Wayne Thiebaud, the late professor of art, is recognized for his depictions of American culture, city and landscapes through the bold use of color, space and light. His work has been displayed in prominent art museums across the United States. Thiebaud, a National Medal of Arts laureate, was elected in 1986. He was an academician of the National Academy of Design and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.