UC Davis Medal

About the UC Davis Medal 

The UC Davis Medal is the highest honor the University presents to individuals in recognition of extraordinary contributions that embody the campus’s Vision of Excellence. Medalists inspire and support the success and engagement of our students, faculty, staff and alumni, and foster a bold and innovative spirit in teaching, research and public service.

History and Description

The UC Davis Medal recognizes individuals of rare accomplishment, “to be heralded today and in perpetuity,” as extraordinarily special members of the UC Davis community.

The design of the UC Davis Medal represents, both figuratively and literally, the legacy of contributions UC Davis has made to the world in research and scholarly endeavors.

Depicted on the medal are the campus name and its motto, “Let There Be Light.” In the upper left quadrant are the life-giving rays of the sun. Below them, leaves of the bay laurel symbolize our proud history of achievement. Lines in the lower right quadrant may be seen as energy radiating from a source, roads leading to the future, or rows of crops in fertile California fields.

The spare, relatively unadorned design, which employs an official campus typeface, Futura, is timeless and distinctive. Jan Conroy, Class of 1977, designed the medal during his long career in university graphics, publications and communications. Jan retired in 2012.

Medal Protocol (PDF)




Bruce WestBruce West

UC Davis College of Engineering alumnus Bruce West, co-founding principal of West Yost Associates, has been a leader in the planning and design of numerous large water and wastewater facilities for more than four decades. The Davis-headquartered engineering partnership has held the title of CE News’ “Best Firms to Work For” competition for eight consecutive years.

After receiving his master’s degree in 1973, Bruce spent 17 years in industrial waste treatment engineering and consulting for various companies, until he and fellow Davis classmate, Jim Yost, formed West Yost in 1990.

Bruce’s dedication to his alma mater has been extraordinary, going beyond his 20-year membership on the College of Engineering’s Dean’s Executive Committee. He has been a member of the Cal Aggie Engineering Alumni Association Board; the Athletic Advisory Committee; the university-wide CAAA Board; the Chancellor’s Club (as chair); and the UC Davis Foundation Board. In addition to several awards from the College, Bruce received the Jerry W. Fielder Memorial Award in 2016, for his longstanding commitment to the mission of UC Davis.

Past Honorees