American Philosophical Society

UC Davis Honorees

Members of the American Philosophical Society are elected for extraordinary contributions across a number of fields, including the humanities, mathematical and physical sciences, biological sciences, social sciences and the arts. More>>


Sandra Gilbert

National Book Critics Circle Lifetime Achievement Award-co-winner Sandra M. Gilbert (with Dr. Susan Gubar of Indiana University), distinguished professor emerita of English, and poet, received the award for The Madwoman in the Attic: The Woman Writer and the Nineteenth-Century Literary Imagination (1979), and for other important contributions to feminist theory. 



Sarah B. Hrdy

Anthropologist and professor emerita Sarah B. Hrdy, author of Mothers and Others: The evolutionary origins of mutual understanding (2009) and other acclaimed works, was elected a fellow in 2011. 



Alexandra Navrotsky

Distinguished Professor Alexandra Navrotsky, the Edward Roessler Chair in Mathematical and Physical Sciences and an interdisciplinary professor of ceramic, earth and environmental materials chemistry was elected 2011.  




David Pines

David Pines, a distinguished research professor of physics at Davis and a fellow since 1988, is the founding co-director of the Institute for Complex Adaptive Matter (a multicampus research program of the University of California) and and professor emeritus of physics and electrical and computer engineering in the Center for Advanced Study at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. 




J. Anthony Tyson

Distinguished Professor of Physics J. Anthony Tyson, whose research is in experimental physics and cosmology, is the chief scientist for the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope. In 2014, after 20 years of research and planning for a massive telescope survey project toward the goal of "fully understanding the universe," Tyson and the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy have been funded by the NSF for the LSST. Elected 2000.