National Academy of Science - Annual Awards

UC Arboretum Bridge
For more information on these awards, visit the National Academy of Sciences - Awards by Field webpage.  

Behavioral and Social Sciences

NAS Prize in Psychological and Cognitive Sciences

NAS Award for Behavioral Research Relevant to the Prevention of Nuclear War

Troland Research Awards

Biology and Medicine

Alexander Hollaender Award in Biophysics

Gilbert Morgan Smith Medal

Jessie Stevenson Kovalenko Medal

NAS Award in Molecular Biology

NAS Award in the Neurosciences

Pradel Research Award

Richard Lounsbery Award

Selman A. Waksman Award in Microbiology

Earth and Environmental Sciences

Alexander Agassiz Medal

Arthur L. Day Prize and Lectureship

Daniel Giraud Elliot Medal

G. K. Warren Prize

Mary Clark Thompson Medal

NAS Award in Early Earth and Life Sciences

Engineering and Applied Sciences

Gibbs Brothers Medal

J. C. Hunsaker Award in Aeronautical Engineering

NAS Award for the Industrial Application of Science

Physical Sciences and Mathematics

Alexander Hollaender Award in Biophysics

Arctowski Medal

Comstock Prize in Physics

Henry Draper Medal

J. Lawrence Smith Medal

James Craig Watson Medal

NAS Award for Scientific Discovery

NAS Award in Chemical Sciences

NAS Award for Chemistry in Service to Society

NAS Award in Mathematics

William O. Baker Award for Initiatives in Research (formerly the NAS Award for Initiatives in Research)


Public Welfare Medal

John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science (field rotates among the physical, biological, and social sciences)

NAS Award for Scientific Reviewing (field rotates among the physical, biological, and social sciences)